After the opening of BTS Ha Yaek Lat Phrao in August—the current terminal station at the northern end of the BTS Skytrain’s Sukhumvit Line—four more new stations will be open for free test rides this Wednesday (Dec 4), continuing the roll out of a 19km northern extension that has been under construction since 2015.

As reported by Khaosod English, Bangkok Governor Aswin Kwanmuang announced that fare collection for the new stations will be postponed as a “new year’s gift” for Bangkokians, not only saving cost on transportation for citizens but also reducing traffic around the area. 

The new stations include Phahon Yothin 24, Ratchayothin, Sena Nikhom and Kasetsart University. Free test rides will be conducted from Dec 4-Jan 2, after which fares will be collected.

The extension will eventually cover 16 stations, including Ha Yaek Lat Phrao, Phahonyothin 24, Ratchayothin, Sena Nikhom and Kasetsart University, while the rest of the extension from Royal Forest Department to Khu Khot will not be open until Dec 2020.