Share this article
Club by Club preview

By Paul Hewitt | Feb 07, 2011

  • Club by Club preview
    Army United
  • Club by Club preview
    Bangkok Glass
  • Club by Club preview
    BEC Tero Sasana F.C.

With the Thai Premier League reaching amazing heights of popularity and a new season about to get underway this weekend (Feb 12), we decided it was time we at BK kept you better informed when it comes to all the TPL news. Kicking off a new blog our guest writer and Korat FC fanatic Paul Hewitt (view his club website here) takes a look forward to the season with an overview of the chances of all 18 of the TPL teams. Every week he'll give us a round up of all the action, stories and events so you can stay up to speed with the world of Thai soccer.

Army United

Formed: circa 1964 (Renamed Army United in 2011)
Stadium: Army Stadium, Din Daeng, Bangkok
Nickname: Green Army / Soldiers
Best Player: Tatree Singha
Main Sponsor: Acer
Army finished bottom in 2010, fully ten points from safety, but find themselves still in the TPL in 2011 after sailing through the impromptu play-offs. There’s no reason to suspect they’ll do much better this season. Finishing in 15th place (one spot above the relegation zone) will be achievement enough.

Bangkok Glass

Formed: 2006 (bought out Krung Thai Bank F.C in 2009 to get a place in the TPL)
Stadium: Leo Stadium, Pathum Thani
Nickname: The Glass Rabbits
Best Player: Kunihiko Takisawa
Main Sponsor: Leo
BG will look to improve on their fifth-place finish in 2010. They were the pre-season title favourites of many last year but in the end they never came close to troubling Muang Thong. The close-season capture of Thai Port’s Sarayoot Chaikamdee will give them more potency up front and they should do better in 2011.

BEC Tero Sasana F.C.

Formed: 1992
Stadium: Thephasadin Stadium, Pathumwan, Bangkok
Nickname: Fire Dragons
Best Player: Teerathep Winothai
Main Sponsor: 3K Battery
Tero have signed a dozen players during the close-season as they try to assemble a squad capable of putting the club back amongst the big boys. Their move to the centrally located Thephasadin Stadium certainly might help attract more crowds at least. The four-time champions have faded in recent years but should be able to improve on their ninth-place finish of 2010 this season. Losing top scorer Anon Sangsanoi to Muang Thong is a big blow, though.

Click here for the teams: Buriram PEA, Chiang Rai United, Chonburi

Click here for the teams: Insee Police United, Khon Kaen F.C., Muang Thong United

Click here for the teams: Osotspa Saraburi F.C, Pattaya United, Rajnavy Rayong F.C.

Click here for the teams: SCG Samut Songkhram F.C., Sisaket Muang Thai F.C., Sriracha F.C.

Click here for the teams: Thai Port F.C., TOT-CAT F.C., TTM F.C Phichit

Share this article



Try celebrated Thai chefs' picks and famous street food at Eathai this month

With the recent completion of Central Embassy, its basement dining center celebrates with exciting guests, celebrated Thai chefs and local creations.

Noise Market

The return of Kolour, Noise Market and finally Bangkok's chance to see Trainspotting T2. 


BK's weekly Bites & Blends Market rounds up the best dining and drinking events, deals and more.

These places should be on any bar-hopping radar whether you're hungry or not. 

Top Chef Thailand

There are some amazing foodie TV shows coming up.